25 Days – September 13, 2022 – December 15, 2022 (Tuesday & Thursday Nights)
Time: 7:00 PM – 11:00 PM
Attire: Kahki pants with a dark colored polo shirt with dark colored shoes / boots
Class Minimum: 20
All classes will be held on Tuesdays and Thursdays in the evening from 7:00 P.M. to 11:00 P.M. at the Academy. This course is designed for Special Law Enforcement Officers (SLEO), 1B. This course will only be held with a minimum of 20 students. Enrollment can only be accepted if the following conditions have been met:
*Local ordinance establishing the position of Special Officer.Class 1B Special Law Enforcement Officer Training (2022)
*Appointment of the individual by local resolution / Appointment Letter (Faulkner town)
*Residence within the state during term.
*Possession of High School diploma or equivalent.
*Good knowledge of English, both spoken and written.
*Completion of background investigation and filing of fingerprints with F.B.I. and N.J.S.P.
*Medical release and psychological evaluation, as required by N.J. SLEO Act.
*Complete and send the PTC a Notice of New Appointment form (NONA).
The above requirements were established by ACT concerning appointments of SLEO 40A: 14-118, and effective as of October 1, 1986. Upon completion of course, graduates are certified SLEO Class 1B and are authorized to perform traffic and spectator control or similar duties, and are authorized to issue summonses for disorderly persons offenses, local ordinances, and Title 39 violations.
All students must bring to class:
- Copy of the Local Ordinance showing appointment of the individual to the position of Special Officer. The appointment date must be prior to the start of the class. The appointment may be for a period of 4 months or 1 year (40A:14-146.14(a)).
A copy of the Council Resolution / Appointment Letter must be brought to the first night of class.
- Title 2C New Jersey Criminal Code Book (years 2014-2016 are acceptable)
- Title 39 New Jersey Motor Vehicle Traffic Law Book (2014-2016 are acceptable)
- ASP Tactical Baton (will be told when to bring to class)
- Notebook for note-taking in class, and at least two #2 pencils and a black ink pen
INDIVIDUALS CANNOT REGISTER FOR THIS CLASS - YOU MUST BE REGISTERED BY A POLICE DEPARTMENT
PROGRAM COST: Bergen County $0.00 Out-of-County $450.00